Does the Church actually know where it stands regarding Isis?

ShowImage

In light of the recent events not just in Paris but all around the world, I’ve had a lot on my mind. Ranging from the drought here in South Africa to…what the HELL is the world coming to!?

One thing that has particularly taken up most of my attention is obviously ISIS. ISIS is a Wahhabi/Salafi jihadistextremist militant group and self-proclaimed Islamic state and caliphate, which is led by and mainly composed of Sunni Arabs from Iraq and Syria. ISIS is now plainly known as The Islamic state, as it is no longer based only* in Syria, but all over the world. Now I’m not afraid of them, nor do I fear death. I am a Christian, and my hope and true Joy is found in Christ, as Paul says in Philippians 1:21:”For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain.”, therefore I do not fear whatever may come. What does however boggle my mind is how the Church has not really taken a stand. Let me elaborate on that before you lose your cool with me :).

As many of you may know, on November 15 2015 France devastated the ISIS-held city of Raqqa, in Syria. The very well known Joshua Feuerstein has kept people well updated on the various situations around the globe, particularly involving France, the U.S and ISIS, and how Christians ought to respond to it all.

Now for the past couple of months, I have walked around shunning those who speak badly of Islam, and who speak badly of Muslims, I hate it!!! “But why?” you ask. In Matthew 5:44-45 Jesus says: “But I say to you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, so that you may be sons of your Father who is in heaven; for He causes His sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous.…”. This isn’t a request, but a statement. A command. Now after the recent bombings in France, Lebanon, and Beirut, a certain anger, if not hatred has formed in my heart toward ISIS in particular, but even toward Muslims. This isn’t cool. So I continuously say that we as a church NEED to be praying for our enemies, ISIS and we should only respond in love, but, here’s the catch, and it’s pretty much what I’m getting at.

There are three different opinions within the church, currently. There’s the one extreme where people are saying: “Go in and bomb them, they are scum, they don’t deserve to live.”, but wheres grace? The other extreme is people say just respond with love and prayer, “don’t fight guns with guns” they say. Okay…but is this acceptable behavior? Is this something we should just sit back and take? NO! Finally the third opinion that people have-and this is the one that I fall into,  is that yes we should pray for our enemies and love them, but when I saw the news update that France had just dropped 20 missiles on Raqqa, there was a spark of joy and satisfaction in my heart, and personally i feel that this isn’t okay either, it’s rather hypocritical if you asked me. It’s kind of like me saying I wont fight guns with guns, its not a good and Godly response, but secretly I’m supporting the U.S, France and Russia while they do the dirty work. But then what is the right reaction?

I don’t know really, it is a tough one. Feel free to comment and let me know what you think. What i can say is that we DO need to respond in prayer and love, because our Lord, Jesus Christ has called us to do this, and out of love and respect for HIM that’s what we need to do, BUT, I also feel that we need to stand up and say that what is going on IS wrong and it is NOT acceptable.

Thanks for reading.

Feel free to comment 🙂

2 thoughts on “Does the Church actually know where it stands regarding Isis?

  1. I’d like to add a few of my views on the topic, as I too have contemplated some of the questions posed here. So I’ll start off with a shocker, and I’ll explain further afterwards – I hate Islam. I believe it was created to lead people away from Christ and is one of the most evil entities present today. It’s time people realized that the extremists are not really ‘extreme’, relative to their law. They are only following the commands set forward in the Quran, one of which is Jihad. Any religion that contains a call to violence at its heart should be spurned. During the crusades Christians killed thousands in the name of their religion -this was, however, due to the wickedness of men, not a flawed scripture. The crusaders chose to ignore the many places in the Bible where violence is refuted, where we are called to ‘turn the other cheek’. Jihad is a concept that is condoned by the Quran – the book which is the foundation of the Islam faith. This goes to show that it is the evil of the religion that causes the men to commit acts of violence, unlike examples of Christianity like the crusades.

    Am I intolerant? No! Tolerance is defined as “the ability or willingness to tolerate the existence of opinions or behaviour that one dislikes or disagrees with.” I have already pointed out that I both dislike and disagree with the existence of Islam. Notice that I said I hate Islam, not Muslims; I hate the sin, not the sinner. I am called to love my neighbour as I would myself, I am called to pray for my enemies; however, the bible does not say that I am called to love ideologies that are contrary to what I believe in. I will tolerate the existence of Islam, even though I hate it, and anyone that believes in Islam. By God’s grace I will love the individuals as I would myself. This being said, tolerance is often confused with conformity. I will NOT conform my views to that of Islam in the name of tolerance. I will stand up for what I believe in even if it means going to war because of it. We are already at war spiritually, not against earthly beings but against the principalities and powers of darkness. Christians are not at war with Muslims, I believe we are at war with Islam. We should fight the disease, whilst ministering to those who are sick.

    Like

Leave a Reply

